Skip to Main Content

Endoscopy Technicians

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Certification in Basic Life Support (BLS) is required for endoscopy technician work. The American Red Cross offers the BLS certification: The Society for Gastroenterology Nurses and Associates offers specialist credentials to technicians who complete their Associates Program or Advanced Associates Program in GI/endoscopy. Find information at The Certification Board for Sterile Processing and Distribution offers five levels of certification, including Technician, Flexible Endoscope Reprocessor, and Surgical Instrument Specialist. Certification ensures safe and effective medical practices that protect the public. For details, visit

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions